Imágenes de páginas

JUSTICES' COURTS. There are in the city six Justices of the Peace, elected for terms of four years, at charter elections. In criminal matters they have jurisdiction over similar offenses, occurring outside of the limits of the city, and within the county, to those which the Police Justice has jurisdiction over within the limits of the city.

They have original jurisdiction in all civil actions
wherein the debt or damages do not exceed the sum of
one hundred dollars, and concurrent jurisdiction in all
civil actions arising upon contract, express or implied,
wherein the debt or damage do not exceed $300, except
in real actions, actions for a disturbance of a right of
way or other easement, action for libel or slander, or
for malicious prosecuticns, and actions against execu-
tors or administrators as such, except in the cases espe
cially provided by law. Nor do they have cognizance
in any case where the title to real estate shall come in
question, except in a special manner mentioned in the
statute of this State.
Florens Krecke,

Herman Kuhn,
Frederick J. Barbier,

James 0. Melick,
Henry Z. Potter,

Albert Scheu.

[ocr errors]


The Metropolitan Police forcc of the city of Detroit was organized by act of the Legislature, approved February 28, 1865, and entered upon its duties on the 15th day of May, 1865, under the direction of a Board of Com missioners authorized by said act, who have and assume entire control of the public force of the city. The Commissiɔners receive no salary or compensation for their services. They are appointed by the Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, for the term (except first Board) of eight years. Vacancies in the Board are filled by the Governor.

Jacob S. Farrand,

Alexander Lewis.
Sidney D. Miller,

M. S. Smith.

Jacob S. Farrand. Secretary.

James S. Booth. Attorney.

J. Logan Chipman. Surgeon..

Dr. D. O. Farrand. The police force at present numbers ninety men, as follows, viz: Superintendent.

M. V. Borgman.

A. J. Rogers.
Sergeants -
D. W. Fales,

C. E. Reynolds,
A. H. Bachmann,

P. N. Girardin,

A. H. Britton. Patrolmen...

79 Detectives....

2 Doormen



The Superintendent receives a salary of $1,800 per annum; Captain, $1,200 per annum; Sergeants, $900 per annum ; Roundsmen, $800 per annum; Detectives, $800 per annum ; Patrolmen, $700 per annum ; Doormen, $600 per annum.

There are three regular station houses-the Central Police Stat!on - which is situated on Woodbridge street, east of Woodward avenue; the Eastern Police Station, on the corner of Russell and Gratiot streets, and the Western Police Station, on the corner of Ninth and Michigau avenues.

An office is located at the City Hall, under the charge of a Sergeant of the force, who performs the duties formerly devolving upon the City Marsbal, which office was abolished upon the organization of the police force. It is also the duty of the Sergeant to attend the sessions of the Common Council, Board of Health and Recorder's Court. At this office the license collector (a patrolman of the police force) is stationed, to collect the license money due the city.


The original buildings of the House of Correction were erected in 1860 and 1861, and cost, together with additions since made, about $150,000. The present total value of the land, buildings and appurtenances is full $200,000.

The capacity of the establishment is for 450 prisoners ; the present number about 425. These prisoners are received from 22 counties of the State of Michigan, including the city of Detroit, and from some of the territories in the Northwest.

The institution is owned and managed by the Common Council of the city of Detroit, who delegate a Board of three Inspectors (who serve without compensation ) with the Mayor to generally szpervise it. The Superintendent, who is appointed for the term of three years, is by law given the mana rement, control and responsibility of the whole, subject to authority as before stated. The provisions of law usual to such establishments apply to this; but new legislation has been had already, and is in preparation for future action by the Legislature, deemed of great practical value in promoting the reformation of prisoners, the leading fiature of which is the substitution of reformation for time sentences.

Jefferson Wiley,

Edward Kanter,
James E Pittman,

Hugh Moffat, Mayor.

Anthony Lederle.

[ocr errors]


The annual city election is held on the firet Tuesday after the first Monday of November in each year, in places in the several wards to be designated by the Council, at least twenty days previous thereto. The Fourth, Fifth, Seventh, Ninth and Tenth Wards are divided into two and the Sixth into three election districts. When a ward is divided into election districts, the Council appoint two or more “ Inspectors of Election," who act also as members of Board of Registra:ion, and as to registration and elections have the same powers and duties as Aldermen. Inspectors of Election are Aldermen of ward and a third person, to be chosen by electors present at opening of polls. If an Alderman or “Inspector" is absent, another person is to be chosen as above.

The polls open at 8 o'clock A. M.. and clos.9 at 5 P. M.
Inspectors appoint two competent clerks.
Inspectors and Clerks must be sworn.

Votes must be canvassed immediately after close of polls.

“On canvassing the votes, the Inspector shall certify a full and true return thereof, under their hands, to the Clerk of the city, carefully sealed up, together with the poll list and ballots, within seventy-two hours after closing of the polls"

Board of City Canvassers, composed of one Inspector from each district, meets at City Hall on Saturday after election, at 3 o'clock P. M.

Special elections conducted in same manner, except that result is canvassed by the Council. General elections for officers, under the State laws, are conducted in

« AnteriorContinuar »