Imágenes de páginas

་་་་་ ་


The CLERK'S MANUAL was first issued in 1855 by Hon. Richard U. Sherman, Clerk of the Assembly, and section 15 of the Legislative Law provides for its continuance from year to year.

Prior to 1889, in addition to the CLERK'S MANUAL, there has been published and used Croswell's Manual, originally compiled by Sherman B. Croswell, and revised from time to time, by L. B. Gleason, Journal Clerk of the Senate, the Appendix, thereto, originally compiled by E. B. Johnson, and revised by L. B. Gleason, and the Committee Clerk's Manual, compiled by Henry L. Gates, Journal Clerk of the Assembly. In 1899 all of these were revised by Henry L. Gates, Journal Clerk of the Assembly, and consolidated under the title of "Clerk's Manual." There was also included in the CLERK'S MANUAL the Constitution annotated, the Legislative Law and the State Printing Law. The many additional decisions subsequently rendered involving the construction and application of the provisions of the Constitution, the amendments made to the Legislative Law, and changes in and additions to the various forms included in the Committee Clerk's Manual, rendered a further revision of the CLERK'S MANUAL necessary, which was made in 1904 by Ray B. Smith,

then Assistant Clerk of the Assembly. It is sought in this work to include for ready reference, the Constitution, statutes, rules, forms, and a statement of procedure constantly used by members of the Legislature, in convenient form for ready reference. While it is impossible in a limited work of this character to include all of the statutory provisions, and to state in detail all of the procedure required in legislative work, nevertheless, it is believed that the CLERK'S MANUAL in this form will accomplish, in a fairly satisfactory manner, the primary object sought to be attained.

The annotations to the Constitution, the statutes, rules, forms and statement of procedure are those in force September 1, 1911. The annotations are brought down to and include Vol. 202, New York Reports, Vol. 144, Appellate Division Reports, and Vol. 67, Miscellaneous Reports.


Clerk of the Senate.


Clerk of the Assembly.

[blocks in formation]

Senate of the State of New York for the Year 1914.


HON. ROBERT F. WAGNER, Lieutenant-Governor and President of the Senate, New York City, Home
Post-office, 51 Chambers St., New York City.

1. Thomas H. O'Keefe..
2. Bernard M. Patten.
3. Thomas H. Cullen.

4. Henry P. Velte.

5. William J. Heffernan.

6. William B. Carswell. 7. Daniel J. Carroll.

8. James F. Duhamel.

9. Felix J. Sanner.

10. Herman H. Torborg.

11. Christopher D. Sullivan. 12. John C. Fitzgerald.

13. James D. McClelland.

14. James A. Foley.
15. John J. Boylan...
16. Robert F. Wagner.
17. Walter R. Herrick.
18. Henry W. Pollock.
19. George W. Simpson.


Oyster Bay, N. Y.

151 Elm st., L. I. City, N. Y.
135 William st., N. Y. City.
265 Hewes st., Brooklyn.
594 4th ave., Brooklyn.
121 St. Marks ave., B'lyn.
135 N. 3d st., Brooklyn.
202 Bay 28th st., Brooklyn.
58 Breman st., Brooklyn.
1043 Liberty ave., B'lyn.
51 Chambers st., N. Y. City.
175 Second ave., N. Y. City.
43 Barrow st., N. Y. City.
261 Broadway, N. Y. City.
402 W. 51st st., N. Y. City.
51 Chambers st., N. Y. City.
115 Broadway, N. Y. City.
541 W. 113th st., N. Y. City.
51 Chambers st., N. Y. City.

[blocks in formation]

51 E. 96th st., N. Y. City.
638 E. 227th st., N. Y. City.
891 Cauldwell ave., N. Y.

Monsey, N. Y.

New Rochelle, N. Y.
Middletown, N. Y.
Towners, N. Y.

Milton, N. Y.

Menands, N. Y.
Castleton, N. Y.
Mechanicville, N. Y.
Delanson, N. Y.
Ilion, N. Y.

Warrensburgh, N. Y.
Saranac Lake, N. Y.
Watertown, N. Y.

333 Genesee st., Utica,
N. Y.

Hamilton, N. Y.

935 University Building,

Syracuse, N. Y.

Hancock, N. Y.
Locke, N. Y.
Elmira, N. Y.
Hall, N. Y.

Woodhull, N. Y.

« AnteriorContinuar »