Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

by the botanist Douglas in 1825.

1825. (David Douglas Journal 18231827, page 61.)

KOITLAH Point, in the Strait of Juan de Fuca at the west entrance to Neah Bay, Clallam County. It was named “Point Hilcome” by the Wilkes Expedition, 1841. The British Admiralty Chart 1911, Kellett, 1847, changed the name to “Koikla Point" and Americans have changed the spelling of that name to Koitlah Point. (Pacific Coast Pilot, page 521.)

KOL-LUS-UM, said to be an Indian name for Port Blakely. (J. A. Costello, The Siwash.)

Kosa Point, a name charted by the Wilkes Expedition, 1841, on the mainland slightly southwest of Fox Island and north of Steilacoom, Pierce County. American charts carry no name for a point there.

Kowlitch RIVER, see Cowlitz River.
KUI-LA-TSU-KO, see Port Discovery.
K'u K'LULTS, see Puget Sound.
KULLYSPEL LAKE, see Calispell.

Kula Kala Point, between Dungeness and Port Williams, in the southwestern part of Clallam County. (Pacific Coast Pilot, p. 532.) Local tradition claims the spelling should be Kula Kula from the Chinook Jargon word meaning "travel.” J. M. Ward, Port Williams, in Names MSS., Letter 206.)

KULSHAN, see Mount Baker.

KUMTUX, “Kumtux, Whitman County, is a Chinook Jargon word, meaning to know or understand. The Nootka word is kommetak, the Clayoquot word kemitak, and the Tokwaht word numituks." (Myron Eells in the American Anthropologist, January 1892.)

KUTZULE Bay, see Grays Bay.

Kwartz Point, at the eastern entrance to the mouth of the Nisqually River. The name was charted by the Wilkes Expedition, 1841, but present charts show no name there.

KWAY-KWILKS, see Skyne Point.

Kydaka Point, on the Strait of Juan de Fuca, west of Clallam Bay, Clallam County.. The name first appears on the British Admiralty Chart 1911, Kellett, 1847.

L

La Point, see Nisqually Head.
LA CAMAS, see Camas.
La Camas CREEK, two streams bear this name. One flows into

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors][merged small]

the Cowlitz River near Vader, Lewis County. The other flows into Muck Creek near Roy, Pierce County. Both get their name from the edible bulb which the Indians called "camas."

LA CAMAS LAKE, near Camas in Clarke County. For a discussion of the name, see Camas.

LACONIA, a station in Kittitas County at Snoqualmie Pass used before the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway tunnel was completed through the Cascade Range. It was named on the supposition that there was a town of that name in the Swiss Alps, but later Mr. Williams was unable to find it on the map of Switzerland. (H. R. Williams, Vice President of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Company, in Names MSS., Letter 589.)

LA CONNER, a town in the western part of Skagit County and formerly the county seat. The site was first settled in May, 1867, by Alonzo Low and the postoffice there was called Swinomish. In 1869, J. S. Conner bought the trading post and the next year had the name changed to honor his wife, Mrs. Louisa Ann (Siegfried) Conner. The French-looking “La" was obtained by joining her initials. (History of Skagit and Snohomish Counties, pages 201202.)

LADD, a town in the north central part of Lewis County, named in honor of W. M. Ladd, one of the principal owners of the coal mine there. (Postmaster, Ladd, in Names MSS., Letter 396.)

LA GRAN MONTANA DEL CARMELO, see Mount Baker.
LAGUNA DEL Garzon, see Lake Terrell.
LAHTOO, see Latah Creek.

LAKE BALLINGER, in the southern part of Snohomish County. “The lake and creek that flows from it into Lake Washington were called McAleer after the patentee of the surrounding lands, Hugh McAleer. Some fourteen or fifteeen years ago I bought all the McAleer lands and from that time on the lake has beeen called Lake Ballinger after my father, Colonel R. H. Ballinger, who resided there until his death in 1905. The creek still retains the name of McAleer.” (R. A. Ballinger, in Names MSS., Letter 131, dated November 30, 1915.)

LAKE Bay, a town and bay on the western shore of Carr Inlet, Pierce County.' It was named after Bay Lake through which a mill race empties into the bay. (Postmaster, in Names MSS., Letter 186.)

LAKE BLACKMAN, in Snohomish County. The Blackman Brothers of Snohomish had a logging camp on the lake in the

[ocr errors]

eighties. (History of the Pacific Northwest: Oregon and Washington, Volume II., page 647.)

LAKE BONAPARTE, see Bonaparte.

LAKE CHELAN, extending from near the Columbia River northwestward into the Cascade Mountains. Captain (later General) George B. McClellan was at the lake on September 25, 1853, and refers to it as Lake Chelann. (Pacific Railroad Reports, Volume I., pages 377-389.) For a discussion of the name, see Chelan.

LAKE CRESCENT, in the northern part of Clallam County. Up to 1890, the lake was variously known as Lake Everett, Big Lake and Lake Crescent. In that year the Port Crescent Improvement Company was booming its townsite, which was but seven miles from the lake. M. J. Carrigan started the Port Crescent Leader and agitated the beauties and name of the lake. The name is now well established. The lake has become a great resort, reached mostly by way of Port Angeles. (D. A. Christopher, Piedmont, in Names MSS., Letter 252.)

LAKE CURLEW, see Curlew.

Lake Cushman, in the Olympic Mountains, west of Hood Canal, Mason County. It was named in honor of Orvington Cushman, packer and interpreter with Governor Isaac I. Stevens when. the treaties with the Indians were being made. Cushman advocated putting all the Indians on one big reservation on Hood Canal. He was known as “Devil Cush.” A postoffice at the lake was established on June 6, 1893. The lake has long been famous as a resort. (W. Putnam, in Names MSS., Letter 75.)

LAKE DE NEF, see Blake's Lake.

LAKE ERIE, a small body of water west of Mount Erie. As to the origin of the name, see Fidalgo Island.

LAKE EVERETT, see Lake Crescent.
Lake GREEN, see Green Lake.

LAKE HOOKER, in the east central part of Jefferson County, at Leland. It was named in 1870 after Otis Hooker one of the oldest pioneers of the locality, who later moved to the State of Maine. (Robert E. Ryan, Sr., in Names MSS., Letter 172.)

LAKE ISABELLA, see Isabella Lake.
Lake KAHCHESS, see Kachess Lake.

Lake KitsAP, a small body of water about one mile southwest of Dyes Inlet, Kitsap County. It is probably an honor for Chief Kitsap but who conferred it, or when, is not certain. (Captain W. B. Seymore, in Names MSS., Letter 3.) In the Duwamish language the name was "K'l-loot." (J. A. Costello, The Siwash.)

LAKE KLEALLUM, see Cle Elum.
LAKE Mc ALEER, see Lake Ballinger.

LAKE MCMURRAY, a small body of water in the southwestern part of Skagit County. It was named for a pioneer settler on its shores.

LAKE MERRILL, in the southeastern part of Cowlitz County. Old settlers claim that it was named in 1890 by James McBride and Frank Vandever in honor of Judge McBride's father-in-law. (John Beavers, Cougar, in Names MSS., Letter 201.)

LAKE MOUNTAINS, on Cypress Island in the northwestern part of Skagit County. They have an elevation of 1525 feet. They were named by the United States Coast Survey in 1854, "among whose peaks we found two large sheets of fresh water.” (George Davidson, in the Pacific Coast Pilot, page 565.)

LAKE NAWATZEL, in the southwestern part of Mason County. Midshipman Henry Eld, of the Wilkes Expedition, 1841, (see Narrative, Volume V., page 127) while exploring the "Sachap," which we know as the Satsop River, describes “Lake Nauvitz.” It seems likely that it is the Lake Nawatzel of the present day maps.

LAKE NICHELESS, see Keechelus.
LAKE OF THE SUN, see Ozette.

LAKE PIERRE, in the northwestern part of Stevens County. It was named for Peter Pierre, a man of French and Indian extraction who settled there in early days. (Richard Nagle, Marcus, in Names MSS., Letter 129.)

LAKE PILLWATTAS, see Little Kachess Lake.
LAKE PLEHNAM, see Bumping Lake.

LAKE River, along the Columbia River at Bachelor's Island, Clarke County. The Wilkes Expedition, 1841, shows it as "Cali

paya Inlet.”

LAKE SAMISH, see Samish Lake.
LAKE SAMAMISH, see Sammamish Lake.

LAKESIDE, a town on the south shore of Lake Chelan, one mile west of its outlet, Chelan County.

LAKESIDE, a station on the electric railway three miles north of Cheney, Spokane County. It was named about 1906. (C. Selvidge, Four Lakes, in Names MSS., Letter 168.)

LAKE SIL-KAT-KWU, see Colville Lake.

LAKE SUTHERLAND, east of Lake Crescent in the western part of Clallam County. It was named for John J. Sutherland, who camped there in 1856 and a little later built a cabin on its shores. It was first placed on the map by Shuecraft, surveyor, in 1886.

(D. A. Christopher, Piedmont, in Names MSS., Letter 252.) Another says that Sutherland's name was Robert and that he was a hunter and trapper who is supposed to have discovered the lake. (H. B. Herrick, Elwha, in Names MSS., Letter 267.)

LAKE TERRELL, a body of water lying west of Ferndale, Whatcom County, and named for an early settler. Eliza's Spanish chart of 1791 shows it as "Laguna del Garzon." (United States Public Documents, Serial No. 1557, Chart K.)

LAKE TOLMIE, see American Lake.

LAKE TUCKER, on San Juan Island, about half way between Friday Harbor and Roche Harbor, San Juan County.

It was named in honor of J. E. Tucker, an early settler, who served as probate judge and later as a representative in the first State legislature.

LAKE UNION, a small body of water, now surrounded by the City of Seattle, King County. The Indian name is said to have been Kah-chung meaning "small lake.” (J. A. Costello, The Siwash.) At a pioneer picnic in 1854, Thomas Mercer proposed that the lake be called Union because it would one day connect the larger adjacent lake with Puget Sound. (Edmond S. Meany, History of the State of Washington, page 307.) For further discussion, see Lake Washington.

LAKE VANCOUVER, see Vancouver Lake.

LAKE VIEW, a town in Pierce County, named by Mr. Prosch in 1876 on account of a small lake being near the station.

(G. M. Gunderson, in Names MSS., Letter 185.)

Lake Washington, a large body of water lying east of Seattle, King County. Isaac N. Ebey visited the lake in the spring of 1851 and named it "Lake Geneva," after the beautiful lake of Switzerland. (Victor J. Farrar, The Ebey Diary, Washington Historical Quarterly, Volume VII., pages 240-241.) That name did not endure. The railroad surveys under Governor Isaac I. Stevens, beginning in 1853, produced a map showing “Lake Dwamish." In the lower left hand corner of the same map is a supplementary sketch by A. W. Tinkham of a route through Snoqualmie Pass to Seattle. It is dated January, 1854, and the lake is shown as “Atsar-kal- Lake.” (Pacific Railroad Reports, Volume XI., Part II.,

" Chart No. 3.) Those two names gave an honor for the Duwamish tribe and also sought to record the Indian name for the lake. In that same year, 1854, the pioneers of Seattle held a picnic, at which Thomas Mercer suggested that the large lake be given the name of Washington, after the father of his country, and the smaller one

« AnteriorContinuar »