« AnteriorContinuar »
Titus, Centralia; Scott Shaser, Olympia; J. E. Calder, Montsano, trustees.
SPOKANE COUNTY PIONEER Society. Spokane. Membership requirements: All persons, their families and children who came to the County on or before November 21, 1884; members of other pioneer associations in the State may become associate members. Business meeting on the first Tuesday in April; annual memorial meeting and annual picnic on dates selected by the Society. Officers: Mrs. W. J. Mackie, president; Sam Glasgow, vice-president; Eugene Buchanan, secretary; W. W. Waltman, treasurer; the above with E. I. (Billie) Seehorn, W. C. Gray, W. H. Ludden, Fred Grimmer, J. I. Daniel, J. E. Gandy, Paul Strobach, Mrs. Robert Fairley, Joseph W. Daniel, J. H. Griner and G. B. Dunning constitute the board of trustees.
STEVENS COUNTY PIONEER Association.. Colville. Membership requirement: Residence in the State prior to June 30, 1895. Annual meeting on June 30. Officers: P. H. Graham, Colville, president; L. F. Ledgerwood Rice, vice-president; John G. Kulzer, Valley, treasurer; Mrs. Clara Hofstetter-Shaver, Colville, secretary; John B. Slater, Colville, historian; W. T. Ferguson, Kettle Falls; Jacob A. Meyers, Meyers Falls; F. W. Bickey, Chewelah; Mrs. John Ehorn, Chewelah; Mrs. P. Betridge, Valley; Herman Zwang, Marcus; George Thomas, Colville, trustees. The Minute Women of the county were invited to the successful annual meeting to hear a returned soldier, C. J. McKellar, of Kettle Falls, who had gone to the front with the Canadian forces at the outbreak of the war.
THE TACOMA RESEARCH CLUB. Meets on the evening of the second Tuesday of each month. Officers: Mrs. Charles E. Hill, president; Professor G. A. Stanley, vice-president; Senator Walter S. Davis, secretary.
THURSTON County. Pioneer and Historical Society of Thurston County. Olympia. Organized on March 2, 1910. Annual election of officers in March; annual picnic at Priest Point, Olympia, in the summer. Membership requirements: Those who have resided in the county forty years or more. Officers: Georgiana M. Blankenship, president; Charles Billings, first vice-president; James Brewer, second vice-president; Fred W. Stocking, secretary-treasurer; P. D. Moore, chaplain; W. Scott Shaser, A. S. Moore and Mrs. J. W. Mowell, trustees.
Walla Walla County.. Inland Empire Pioneer Association. Walla Walla. Membership requirements: Arrival in the Inland Empire or on the Pacific Coast prior to 1885. Officers: Benjamin Burgunder, Colfax, president; J. C. Lloyd, Colfax, first vice-president; Joseph Harbert, Walla Walla, second vice-president; W. D. Wallace, Waitsburg, third vice-president; Marion Evans, Walla Walla, secretary; Levi Ankeny, Walla Walla, treasurer; W. D. Lyman, Walla Walla, historian.
WHATCOM COUNTY. Old Settlers' Association of Whatcom County. Ferndale. Annual gathering and election of officers at Pioneer Park, Ferndale, in August. Membership requirements: There is a graduated membership; persons having been in the county ten years are admitted as “Chechacoes”; older residents receive other Chinook Jargon titles; the oldest living member in point of residence receives a special badge of honor. Officers:
Officers: J. B. Wilson, president; T. B. Wynn, vice-president; Edith M. Thornton, secretary; W. E. Campbell, treasurer; Charles Tawes, John Stater, John Tarte, Godfrey Schneider, Porter Felmley, George Baer, trustees.
WHITMAN COUNTY PIONEERS' AssociATION. Garfield. Annual meeting in June. Membership requirements: Residence in the state of Washington prior to October, 1886. Officers: William Duling, Garfield, president; P. W. Cox, Colfax, vice-president; S. A. Manring, Garfield, secretary; William Lippitt, Colfax, treasurer.
YAKIMA County. Yakima County Pioneers’ Association. Yakima. Annual meeting on the first Saturday in November. Mem
. bership requirements: Citizens of white or Indian blood who are residents of the original county of Yakima prior to November 9, 1889, and their descendents; others may become associate members. Officers : David Longmire, president; James A. Beck, 1st vice-president; Mrs. Jennie Shardlow, ad vice-president; John H. Lynch, secretary; Mrs. Zona H. Cameron, treasurer; Mrs. A. J. Splawn, historian. YAKIMA COLUMBIA AssociaTION. Yakima.
A Catholic organization having for its object the care and preservation of the old St. Joseph Mission in the Ahtanum Valley. Since 1915 a caretaker has resided on the premises. Officers: John Ditter, president; R. E. Allingham, vice-president; John H. Lynch, secretary; H. A. La Berge, treasurer; Pat Jordan, general manager.
Victor J. FARRAR.
ORIGIN OF WASHINGTON GEOGRAPHIC NAMES
(Continued from Volume IX., page 295) GRAYS HARBOR, on the western shore of the state. On May 7, 1792, Captain Robert Gray, the American explorer, discovered the harbor and named it Bulfinch Harbor in honor of one of the Boston owners of his ship Columbia. In October of the same year, Vancouver, the English explorer, sent his Lieutenant Joseph Whidbey to survey the new harbor. They called it Gray's Harbor, and as their charts were published, while the American's charts were not, the name prevailed. The Spaniards of that same year - Galiano and Valdez helped to establish that name by charting it “Puerto de Gray.” John Work, of the Hudson's Bay Company, called in “Chihalis Bay" in 1824. (T. C. Elliott, in the Washington Historical Quarterly, July, 1912, page 204.) David Douglas called it "Whitbey Harbor" in 1825. (Journal of David Douglas, 1823-1827, page 60. Even American maps sometimes showed the name as "Whidbey Harbor.” (Pacific Railroad Reports, Volume XII, Part II, page 264.)
GRAYS HARBOR County, created as Chehalis County by an act of the Territorial Legislature approved on April 14, 1854. See Chehalis City and River for discussion of that name. In February, 1907, an act of the State Legislature was approved dividing Chehalis County and Creating Grays Harbor County. The State Supreme Court later declared the act “entirely indefinite and uncertain.” On March 15, 1915, there was approved a very brief act of the Legislature which simply changed the county's name from Chehalis to Grays Harbor.
Grays Point, on the north bank of the lower Columbia River, in Pacific County. Sir Edward Belcher, in 1839, named it “Cape Broughton” in honor of Vancouver's associate, Lieutenant W. R. Broughton, of the 1792 expedition. Captain George Davidson says the Wilkes Expedition, 1841, called it Grays Point. Also that the earliest United States Coast Survey charts showed it as Cape Broughton, while on later ones it is designated Grays Point. (Pacific Coast Pilot, page 463.) One item is a little confused, since Chart 2 in the atlas accompanying the Wilkes Volume, Hydrography, shows the feature as "Burnie Point," evidently an honor intended for James Birnie, representing the Hudson's Bay Company at Astoria. The name that has prevailed is another honor for the American Captain Robert Gray and naturally arose from the name given the adjacent bay and river.
GRAYS RIVER, flowing into the lower Columbia River at Grays Bay, Wahkiakum County. The name is for Captain Robert Gray. On the Wilkes Expedition, 1841, chart it has the Indian name Ebokwol, and in 1853 it was given another Indian name, Moolhool. (Pacific Railroad Reports, Volume XI, Part II, Chart 8.)
GREAT BEND (of the Columbia River), mentioned by Richard Arnold in 1853. (Pacific Railroad Reports, Volume I, page 284.) The common name for this feature and the region about it is Big Bend.
Great Falls OF THE COLUMBIA, a name frequently used in early records for The Dalles. They are referred to as such by Lewis and Clark, 1805, by Gabriel Franchere and Alexander Ross, 1811, and by David Douglas, 1825.
GREAT PENINSULA, see Indian or Great Peninsula.
Great Plains Of The Columbia, a name which appears in early records for portions of Eastern Washington and Oregon bordering on the Columbia River.
GREAT PLATEAU OF SPOKANE. The country bounded by the Columbia, Spokane and Snake Rivers received that name on James Tilton's Map of a Part of Washington Territory, September, 1859. (In United States Public Documents, Serial No. 1026.)
Great South Sea, see Pacific Ocean.
GREENBANK, a postoffice on the eastern shore of Whidbey Island at the entrance to Holmes Harbor, Island County. The name was given in 1906 by Calvin Philips in honor of his boyhood home, Green Bank, Delaware. (Calvin Philips, Seattle, in Names MSS., Letter 23.)
GREEN LAKE, in the northern portion of Seattle, King County. The name appears as “Lake Green” on the map by the Surveyor-General of Washington Territory, 1857. (In United States Public Documents, Serial No. 877.) There are several other small bodies of water in the State bearing the same name.
GREEN Point, on the Strait of Juan de Fuca east of Port Angeles, Clallam County. This name was given by the United States Coast Survey. (See Report for 1854, in United States Public Documents, Serial No. 784.)
Green Point, at the eastern entrance to Carr Inlet, in the northwestern part of Pierce County. It was named by the Wilkes Expedition, 1841, in honor of Daniel Green, gunner's mate in one of the crews.
Green Point, at the eastern cape of Spieden Island in San Juan County, and another of the same name on the northwestern shore of Fidalgo Island, Skagit County. Both these names first appear on the British Admiralty Chart 2689, Richards, 1858-1859. The names were undoubtedly descriptive when given.
GREEN RIVER, flowing westward from the Cascade Mountains and emptying into White River at Auburn, King County. This river is the source of Tacoma's water supply. The name was descriptive when used by the early writers and map-makers. James G. Swan says the Indian name was Nooscope. (Northwest Coast, page 426.) Lieutenant A. W. Tinkham gives the Indian name as Nook-han-noo. (Pacific Railroad Reports, Volume XI, Part II, Chart 8.) The upper waters were apparently confused by Theodore Winthrop, 1858, with those of the Greenwater River, a mountain tributary of White River.
GREENS SPUR, Whatcom County, see Standard.
GREENVILLE HARBOR, a small indentation on the ocean shore south of Point Grenville, Grays Harbor County, is shown with this name on James Tilton's Map of a Part of Washington Territory, September, 1859. (In United States Public Documents, Serial No. 1026.) Such difference in spelling frequently occurs.
GREENWATER RIVER, a mountain tributary of White River and forming part of the boundary between Pierce and King Counties. Lieutenant Robert E. Johnson of the Wilkes Expedition, 1841, gives the Indian name as Smalocho.
GREENWOOD, a postoffice in Grays Harbor County. It was named in 1914 by John Landers, the oldest settler there, after the Greenwood Timber Company, a large holder of timber in that vicinity. (James W. Finn, in Names MSS., Letter 542.)
GREENWOOD, on the south side of Nooksack River, near Lynden, Whatcom County. The name arose from the schoolhouse being surrounded with evergreen trees. (Mrs. Phoebe N. Judson, Lynden, in Names MSS., Letter 187.)
GREGOR, a station on the Spokane, Portland & Seattle Railway in Adams County. It was named for a prominent owner of land in that vicinity McGregor but was shortened so as to avoid confusion with the name of McAdam, another station on the same division of the railroad.' (L. C. Gilman, in Names MSS., Letter 590.)
Griffin Bay, a large bay at the southwest extremity of San Juan Island, San Juan County. The Wilkes Expedition, 1841, charted the bay as "Ontario Roads." The British Admiralty Chart 2689, Richards, 1858-1859, first gave the name Griffin Bay, which has remained on all charts since. The name is an honor for Charles John Griffin, Colonial justice of the Peace, and an official of the Hudson's Bay Company, in charge of their Bellevue Farm on San Juan Island. He maintained the British claims when Isaac N. Ebey, American Collector of Customs, undertook to exercise authority there. The long dispute