With malice toward none: the life of Abraham Lincoln

Harper & Row, 1977 - 492 páginas
A masterful biography of Lincoln that follows his bitter struggle with poverty, his self-made success in business and law, his early disappointing political career, and his leadership as President during one of America's most tumultuous periods.

Dentro del libro

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

LibraryThing Review

Crítica de los usuarios  - CatsandCherryPie - LibraryThing

Well organized biography of Lincoln. Easy reading. Highly recommend this book. Leer comentario completo

LibraryThing Review

Crítica de los usuarios  - BobNolin - LibraryThing

Deserves all of the accolades it has received. Very well done, very readable biography. Highly recommended. Leer comentario completo


Rivers of Time
The New Reckoning
Reference Notes
Derechos de autor

Otras 1 secciones no mostradas

Otras ediciones - Ver todas

Términos y frases comunes

Acerca del autor (1977)

Stephen B. Oates is the author of sixteen books, including "The Approaching Fury; With Malice Toward None: A Life of Abraham Lincoln " and " Let the Trumpet Sound: A Life of Martin Luther King, Jr., " the latter two books winning, respectively, the Christopher Award and the Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Book Award. They have been translated into several languages.

Oates was a consultant and "talking head" in Ken Burns's "Civil War " series on PBS, and is a recipient of the Nevins-Freeman Award of the Chicago Civil War Round Table for lifetime achievement in the field of Civil War studies. A teacher at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, he is now writing the concluding book of the Voices of Storm trilogy, about the years of Reconstruction, 1865-1877.

Información bibliográfica