The Ferocious Engine of Democracy: From the origins through William McKinley

Madison Books, 1995 - 430 páginas
In the first major, in-depth study since World War II, Michael P. Riccards provides a narrative history of the U.S. presidency that is also an invaluable reference. Volume One covers the presidency from its creation to its major crisis in the Civil War and the transitional presidency of McKinley. Volume Two Continues the history up to the presidency of George Bush. In Volume Two, he provides coverage of each administration and extended treatment of the more important presidents. Though there is some biographical material about each chief executive, the focus is on issues, policies, legislative achievements and foreign policy decisions for each administration.

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

The ferocious engine of democracy : a history of the American presidency

Crítica de los usuarios  - Not Available - Book Verdict

For readers who may have been disappointed in the approach taken by Forrest McDonald in his recent overview, The American Presidency: An Intellectual History (LJ 2/1/94), this narrative history may be ... Leer comentario completo

Otras ediciones - Ver todas

Acerca del autor (1995)

Michael P. Riccards is president of Fitchburg State College in Fitchburg, Massachusetts. He is the author of several books, including A Republic If You Can Keep It: The Foundations of the American Presidency, 1700-1800 (Greenwood Press, 1987).

Información bibliográfica