Imágenes de páginas

by another judge or chancellor, as required by law, a license to practice law will be granted him, the granting of the same to be signed by said judges, and spread on the minutes of the court where first examined.

That the Secretary of this Association furnish a copy of rule first to all judges and chancellors who reside in cities or towns having more than one resident judge, and a copy of rule second to all the other judges and chancellors of the State, requesting that the same be spread on the minutes of his court, and be made a rule thereof.

Respectfully submitted,

C. J. SAWYER, Chairman,


After a full discussion of the report by various members, the following resolution, offered by H. H. Ingersoll, of Knoxville, was adopted :

Resolved, That the Committee on Admission to the Bar be instructed to prepare and submit to the next General Assembly such amendments to our statutes as will confer sole jurisdiction upon the Supreme Court of the admission of members to the bar, and allow it to prescribe rules therefor.”

A paper, entitled “A Biographical Sketch of Return J. Meigs," was read by R. F. Jackson, of Nashville. (See Appendix.)

The Association then adjourned to meet at 3 o'clock P.M.


The Association convened in pursuance of adjournment.

The following resolution, offered by Judge H. H. Ingersoll, of Knoxville, was adopted:

Resolved, That the Central Council be instructed to revise our Constitution and By-laws, and report to the next annual session such amendments, or reformation thereof, as to them may seem best for the Association."

Col. Baxter Smith, of Nashville, then read a paper, entitled “A Biographical Sketch of Judge Joseph C. Guild.” (See Appendix.)

The regular programme of exercises having been concluded, the Association went into the election of officers for the ensuing year.

James H. Malone, of Memphis, was elected President.

The three Vice presidents were elected as follows: John E. Wells, of Union City, for West Tennessee; C. R. Berry, of Franklin, for Middle Tennessee; W. G. M. Thomas, of Chattanooga, for East Tennessee.

The following members of the next Central Council were unanimously chosen : C. W. Metcalf, of Memphis, Chairman ; John H. Watkins, of Memphis; L. Lehman, of Memphis; M. T. Bryan, of Nashville; Garnett Andrews, of Chattanooga.

Claude Waller, of Nashville, was re-elected Secretary and Treasurer.

The delegates elected to the American Bar Association were as follows:

For Middle Tennessee.—Delegate: Col. A. S. Colyar, of Nashville. Alternate: J. M. Anderson, of Nashville. For East Tennessee.-Delegate: Geo. T. White, of Chatta

nooga. Alternate : E. C. Camp, of Knoxville.

For West Tennessee.-Delegate: Judge R. J. Morgan, of Memphis. Alternate: Eugene Lehman, of Memphis.

The President-elect announced that he would appoint his committees at a later day, and report them to the Secretary.

No other business being before the Association, it adjourned, announcement having been made that the members would meet at the banquet table at 8 P.M.

The following are the committees that have subsequently been appointed by the President, James H. Malone:

Special Committee to Agitate the Calling of a Constitutional Convention.--W. B. Swaney, Chairman, Chattanooga; J. W. Caldwell, Knoxville; J. J. Turner, Gallatin; M. T. Bryan, Nashville; George Gillham, Memphis.

Special Committee to Memorialize Legislature on the Question of a New Code. -John M. Gaut, Chairman, Nashville; Luke E. Wright, Memphis; Tully R. Cornick, Knoxville.

Committee on Judicial Administration and Remedial Procedure.- John H. Henderson, Chairman, Franklin; J. B. White

head, Chattanooga; C. N. Burch, Nashville; J. W. E. Moore, Brownsville ; John W. Yoe, Knoxville.

Committee on Legal Ellucation and Admission to the Bar.Joseph G. Branch, Chairman, Nashville; John P. Edmondson, Memphis; Geo. D. Lancaster, Chattanooga; Thomas E. Harwood, Trenton; Percy D. Maddin, Nashville.

Committee on Jurisprudence and Law Reform.—Tomlinson Fort, Chairman, Chattanooga; A. S. Colyar, Nashville; G. T. Fitzhugh, Memphis; William IIouse, Franklin; R. M. Barton, Jr., Chattanooga.

Committee on Grievances.-Calvin F. Vance, Chairman, Memphis; C. J. Sawyer, Clinton; Charles D. Porter, Nashville; Thomas R. Meyers, Shelbyville; William Sanford, Covington.

Committee on Publication.-M. B. Trezevant, Chairman, Memphis; Eugene Lehman, Memplis; J. A. Webb, Memphis; R. T. Smith, Nashville; J. W. Bonner, Nashville.




ARTICLE I. - The objects of the Association are to foster legal science, maintain the honor and dignity of the profession of law, to cultivate professional ethics and social intercourse among its members, and to promote improvements in the law and the modes of its administration.


ARTICLE II.-All nominations for membership shall be made by the Local Council of a County or Bar Association when such Local Council or Bar Association exists; when there is no Local Council or Bar Association in any county, nominations from such county shall be made by the Central Council. All nominations thus made or approved shall be reported by the Council to the Association, and all whose names are reported shall thereupon become members of the Association; Provided, That if any member demands a vote upon any name thus reported, the Association shall thereupon vote thereon by ballot. Five negative votes shall be sufficient to defeat any election for membership

MEMBERSHIP. ARTICLE III.-Any person shall be eligible to membership in this Association who shall be a member of the bar of this State, in good standing, and who shall also be nominated as herein provided.


ARTICLE IV.-The officers of this Association shall consist of one President, three Vice-presidents, a Secretary and Treasurer, a Central Council, who shall be the Board of Directors under the charter, to be chosen by the Association. One of the members of the Central Council shall be its chairman. Each of these officers shall be elected at each annual meeting for the next ensuing year, but the same person shall not be elected President two years in succession. All such elections shall be by ballot. The officers elect: d shall hold office until their successors are elected and qualified according to the Constitution and By-laws.


ARTICLE V.-The Central Council shall consist of five members, and shall be, at all times, an advisory board for consultation and conference when called on for that purpose by the President, or any Vice-president who may, for the time being, be acting as President.

LOCAL COUNCIL. ARTICLE VI.— The President, by and with the advice and consent of the Central Council, may establish a Local Council in any county in this State by issuing a warrant to that effect, naming therein the persons composing such Local Council. Each Local Council shall not consist of less than three nor more than seven members. No person shall be eligible to appointment as a member of any Local Council who is not, at the time, a member of this Association.

ELECTION OF MEMBERS. ARTICLE VII.-All members of this convention signing the charter, and all members elected as herein provided, shall become members of the Association upon the payment of the admission fee as herein provided for. But after the adjournment of this convention all nominations for membership shall be made as herein provided.


ARTICLE VIII.—Each member shall pay five dollars to the Treasurer as annual dues, and no person shall be qualified to exercise any privilege of membership who is in default. Such dues shall be payable, and the payment thereof enforced, as may be provided by the by-laws. Members shall be entitled to receive all publications of the Association free of charge. The admission fee shall be five dollars, to be paid as soon as the member is elected.

« AnteriorContinuar »