« AnteriorContinuar »
Officers of Instruction and Students, 1921-1922.
(including 645 who teach in one or more schools.)
588 5,349 1,047 893 228 436 127 619
Some idea of the wonderful growth of the University of Pennsylvania may be found in comparison of the registration figures with those of former years. It is of interest to record that in the autumn of 1872, when the new College Hall in West Philadelphia was occupied, the ent're student registration, all departments, was only 780 and the officers of instruction aggregated 41.
THE UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, PITTSBURGH, ALLEGHENY COUNTY.
(The Western University of Pennsylvania.) The University of Pittsburgh had its origin in the Pittsburgh Academy, which received its charter from the Legislature on February 28, 1787. At that time Pittsburgh was a small village in the forks of the two rivers which unite to form the Ohio. The young institution was planted in Pittsburgh because, as stated in the charter, any school or college already established was greatly distant from the country west of the Allegheny Mountains. Its avowed purpose was to furnish to the youth in Western Pennsylvania education in “the useful arts, science and literature." The original incorporators were men distinguished in public life in the western part of the State. The Academy flourished under a number of different principals until in 1810 Rev. Dr. Joseph Stockton, eminent in letters and in education. became the principal. In Dr. Stockton's administration it became evident that the Academy could not provide Western Pennsylvania with the educational facilities urgently required and that the institution must be enlarged.
Meanwhile, the Constitution adopted in 1790 made provision for the establishment by the State of “one or more seminaries of learning.” Clearly one of these should be in Philadelphia, and in 1791 the two institutions there were reincorporated under the title “The University of Pennsylvania." Following a similar plan for the western part of the State, the Legislature in 1819 reincorporated in Pittsburgh the Pittsburgh Academy under the title of "The Western University of Pennsylvania."
By separate act the Legislature made to the newly created University a large grant of valuable land. The title to this land failing by reason of accrued rights in adjacent land owners. the Legislature made a money appropriation for the erection of a building on the land already owned by the University. In 1822 the prw faculty was inducted into office, with Dr. Robert Bruce as the head. While for many years the University confined itself principally to instruction in the liberal arts, yet about 1840 a flourishing law school was established, under the beadship of Honorable Walter II. Lowrie, and courses in engineering were offered, the first student graduating from this latter department in 1816. The buildings were destroyed in the great fire of 1845 and again in 1849, the latter interrupting the work for a season. In 1908 the University acquired title to 43 acres of land in the Schenley district, on which several new buildings have been erected and others are in course of erection. In the same year, without change of charter, the name of the University was, made “University of Pittsburgh." In 1921 the University purchased the H. K. Porter property adjoining the University and alse the H. C. Frick property at Fifth Avenue and Bigelow Boulevard adding twentyfive acres to the campus. Plans for new buildings are now under way. Alumni Hall the gift of the alumni of the University was erected in 1920 at a cost of $650.000
The chancellors, in earlier years called principals, have been as follows: Robert Eruce, 1822-1843; Heman Dyer, 1843-1849; David H. Riddle, (acting), 1849-1856 ; John F. McLaren, 1855-1858; George Woods, 1858-1880; Henry Mitchell MacCracken, 1880-1884; Milton B. Goff, 1884-1890 ; William J. Holland, 1890-1900 : John A. Brashear (acting), 1900-1904; Samuel Black McCormick, 1904-1920 ; and John Gabbert Bowman, 1920.
The University of Pittsburgh comprises the following schools:
The Board of Trustees, a self-perpetuating body, is as follows:
George Hubbard Clapp, Sc.D., President.
1904. William Lucien Scaife, Ph, B., C.E.
The officers of administration are: Chancellor-John Gabbert Bowman, LL.D. Secretary--S. B. Linbart. Treasurer-Thomas Harlan Baird McKnight. Registrar-John Gilbert Quick, B.S. Dean of the College-John Colvin Fettermann, Ph. M. Dean of the School of Economics---Albert Bayard Wright, A.M. Dean of the School of Education--George H. Reavis. Ph.D. Dean of the School of Engineering-Frederic Lendall Bishop, Ph.D. Dean of the School of Mines-Harry Bertine Meller, E.M. Director of the Observatory-H, D. Curtis, A.M., Ph.D Director of the Mellon Institute of Industrial Research and School of Specific
Industries-Edward Ray Weidlein, Ph.D. Dean of the School of Medicine-Raleigh Russell Huggins, M. D. Dean of the School of Law-A. M. Thompson, LL.M. Dean of the School of Dentistry-II. Edmund Friesell, D.D.S. Dean of the School of Pharmacy-Julius Arnold Koch, Ph.D., Pharın.D., Sc.D. Director of University Extension-Charles W. Hunt, Ph.D.
128 24 11 50 17 148 19 15
School of Dentistry
6 77 11 10
1520 247 128 1803 1195 279 176 108 340 661 6517 427
THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE COLLEGE, STATE COLLEGE, CENTRE COUNTY.
Board of Trustees.
APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR.
Jilton W. Lowry, 601 Clay Avenue Scranton
1922 1922 1923 1923 1024 1924
Elected by the General Alumni Association.
1922 1922 1922 1923 1923 1023 1924 1924 1924
Elected by Delegates from Societies.
1923 1923 1923 1923 1924 1924 1924 1924 1925 1925 1925 1925
The Pennsylvania State College, located adjacent to the borough of State College, Centre County, was established and is now maintained by the joint action of the Federal Government and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Chartered by an Act of the State Legislature approved February 22, 1855, as the “Farmers' High School,” it served a small but useful purpose until the passing of the so-calied “Land Grant" act of Congress in 1862, which offered to each State and Territory a portion of the public lands for the maintenance of an institution of higher learning, provided the State would furnish the necessary buildings and a portion of the equipment.
The Legislature of Pennsylvania accepted this offer by an Act approved April 1, 1863, and pledged the faith of the State to carry the same into effect. Under this agreement the college became the Pennsylvania unit in a chain of State institutions of higher education, one being located in each State of the Union. In 1874 the name was changed and it has since been known as “The Pennsylvania State College."
According to the provisions of the Morrill Act of 1862, the college is required to teach such branches of learning as are related to Agriculture and the Mechanic Arts, without excluding other scientific and classical studies and including military tactics. This is to be done in such manner as the Legislature of the State may prescribe, "in order to promote the liberal and practical education of the industrial classes in the several pursuits and professions of life." Upon this broad foundation, the Pennsylvania State College is supported by public taxation through biennial appropriations of varying amounts made by the State Legislature; and by permanent appropriations made by Congress for instructional and experimental purposes, and varying amounts for agricultural extension purposes.
The Pennsylvania State College is co-educational and there are now about 300 women students enrolled. Women students were first admitted in 1871, while the Department of Home Economics was established in 1907.
Experimental work in agriculture began in 1877. In 1887, the State accepted the provisions of the Congressional Act for the establishement of an agricultural experiment station as a branch of the State College, and provided a building for that purpose. The agricultural extension service was established in 1907 and the first county agents were sent out in 1912. There are now county agents in 63 out of the 67 counties of the State.
The Institute of Animal Nutrition was organized as a separate department of the agricultural school on July 1, 1907. It now houses the only respiration calorimeter in the United States and the largest in the world.
The college now maintains extension work in agriculture, engineering, mining, liberal arts and education. The engineering extension division was made a department of the Engineering School in 1921, at which time it had over 7,000 students.
Died August 2, 1922,