« AnteriorContinuar »
and a Sunday-school formed, in which and settlers. During the preceding work Mark Noble and Mrs. Judge fall, George W. Dole, the Chicago Hamilton were particularly active. manager of the firm of Newberry & Then came good Father St. Cyr to Dole, the large forwarding and comthe relief of the French and Irish mission house of Detroit, had erected Catholics, and next, our earnest Pres a frame warehouse and packingbyterian friend and pastor, Rev. Jere house
present Tremont miah Porter. He it was who organ
Hotel. He had good buyers-Clyized the first Protestant church in bourne, the Nobles, Hubbard-and Chicago.
was doing a great business; he This may be called the continuous slaughtered half a thousand cattle religious history of Chicago. It is a and hogs during the first season. waste of time and strength to wander Mr. Dole is, therefore, father of one back into the seventeenth and eigh of Chicago's most prodigious industeenth centuries to pounce upon the tries. writings.descriptive of the wander This warehouse was the first frame: ings of the Catholic priests, and every business structure erected in Chicago.. time you find one who stopped in Two or three others followed, standthis vicinity, or in any section of ing in all their glory on South Water country called Chicagou, put a pin street, near La Salle or Dearborn. P. there in triumph; the good man was F. W. Peck built one for a store, and here upon the present site of Chicago before the second story was finished -he preached right here! Splendid Mr. Porter installed himself thereoutcome for days of research! Grand there was his lodging place and his triumph of history !
study. Back of
the store Returning contentedly to modern double log house, in which was a prihistory, we are able to understand vate boarding establishment, where that the arrival of Father St. Cyr and the pastor took his meals. At table Rev. Jeremiah Porter was the birth he met Mr. Dole, Mr. Peck, Mr. of Chicago's substantial religious Wright and his son (his family not life.
having come on), Philo Carpenter, Since the panic of the Indian war Postmaster Hogan, Lemuel Brown the settlers had had no time to erect (the new blacksmith), John Bates. new houses, and every foot of living (deputy postmaster, afterwards auc
crowded. Some of the tioneer, and a resident of a year's stores even were transformed into standing), and
Miss Harriet, an dwelling houses. The most preten
The most preten- adopted daughter of Mr. and Mrs. tious business establishment, how Brown, whom Mr. Bates married in ever, could not even give up an inch the autumn. to accommodate the influx of visitors It is not known exactly when Capt.
Seth Johnson returned to Chicago, —this
the large warehouse; after having taken his former com south of that, on Water street, was mand to Fort Brady, but certain it is the log dwelling of Mr. John K. Boyer, that Mrs. Capt. Seth Johnson came who, with his family from Pennsylvadown from Mackinac, accompanied nia, arrived in Chicago a few months by a school-ma'am, Miss Eliza Chap- after my coming. Mulford, a jeweler, pel by name. In all probability the had near that house store. The captain came with his wife and her second framed store of the town was friend, to end his days in Chicago as that of Mr. Peck (two-story), corner a military man, a collector of the port, of South Water and La Salle streets; an alderman and a genial, good fel south of it was the drug store of low. Miss Chappel, upon her arrival, Philo Carpenter; all these had been went to live with the family of Major built within the year, after the war. Wilcox, second in command, under Below Mr. Carpenter's was the log Capt. Fowle. Miss Chappel came to post-office, kept by Mr. J. S. C. Hogan, teach. She, therefore, looked around who had come to Chicago, from Macfor a school-house. But we will en kinac. Nearer the Point was the ter it through Mr. Porter's narrative, Sauganash Hotel, kept by Mark Beauexcusing the coupling of these two bien. Over the bridge was the other by the premature announcement that tavern, kept by W. W. Wattles. There before two years had passed Miss I took my first dinner in Chicago, and Chappel became Mrs. Porter.
that day met my friend Mr. “The stores, in 1833, were all on Wright, to my great joy. On the same South Water street, except Beaubien's side of the river, on what is now the trading post on the bank just south corner of Canal and Madison streets, of the Fort, now Michigan avenue. stood the neat cottage * of Mr. Charles The first store west of the Reserva- Taylor. Mrs. Taylor was a sister of tion, was a log one of John Wright's, General Orlando B. Wilcox, born in reached by a bridge over a slough, Detroit, and then a lad sometimes in corner of State and South Water our Sunday School. Mr. Graves was streets. There Miss Chappel opened then building a two-story dwelling her school for children of the Fort near the corner of State and Lake and town, when Mr. Wright vacated streets. If my memory is right, Dr. it to take possession of his new frame J. T. Temple t put up next his twostore, in the autumn of 1833. A few
* This is probably an error, as the best auone-story log groceries, provision, thority is to the effect that this cottage was and liquor stores were on South
not built until a year later. Water street, near Newberry & Dole's
+ Dr. Temple was a Vermonter, who in forwarding and commission store
July, 1833, arrived from Washington with
story dwelling on Franklin street, Wright, in the summer of 1833, a mijust across the corner from the post nor, and Silas B. Cobb, a plucky Veroffice. Mr. Carpenter, at the same monter and harness-maker, who was time, was building way out on the but a little more than twenty-one prairie' on La Salle street, two years of age. This particular influx blocks from Lake."
of Chicago's new blood must be noAlso, away out on the prairie, on ticed right here; for it is going to the verge of the South Side settle color her future history. Although ment, was the pen for estrays, built a harness-maker by trade, Cobb had by the county—the little log hut-the
his eyes open for any work which public building Mark Noble had presented itself. He had not been moved out of the old Kinzie house into long in town before he discovered a log building, on the lake shore, south, that Mr. James Kinzie wanted to hire of Colonel Beaubien's--moved out just somebody to superintend the erection in time, because that historic land of his hotel—the Green Tree Tavern mark disappears entirely about the -on the west side, on the present time that the revival and the town of corner of Canal and Lake streets, and 1833 appears. Two sons of John Kinzie he undertook the work. The “boss were here to see the new birth, how carpenter" knew
about ever—James a hotel keeper and Rob building than Mr. Kinzie did about ert A., merchant. Colonel Beaubien shoemaking or harness making, and still resided in the building he had though he looked wise and gave genpurchased of the American Fur Com eral directions, his ignorance came to pany, and, with his son Medore, now the surface. His employer discharged a young man of twenty-four, was not him, but not without several good only a leading business man but a dollars in his pocket, with which he patron of education and a pillar of bought a small stock of goods. With the Catholic church. Then there the proceeds of these, which he sold were the Clybournes and the Millers to advantage, he got his start in Chi-the former not townsmen, however cago, and whether in the carpenter —and the new blood which had business, the leather business or the run in.
gas business, the dollars have ever Of that new blood were John S. come his way.
All of these new comers had heard his wife and four children, having secured a of Chicago in the most natural ways government contract to transport the mail -through their friends, through travfrom Chicago to Ottawa. During the first
elers, through the newspapers, through year of his residence in Chicago he did not
the events of the Black Hawk warbecome well known as a physician, but as the owner of a sucessful stage line and a
and yet in such a condensation as most enthusiastic Baptist.
this history, it is often found neces
sary to thrust characters upon the In the summer, therefore, of 1833, stage, as if they just happened to Messrs. Butler and Bronson came on wander along that way. But about a to look at the land and to see Chiweek previous to the first meeting of cago.
For various reasons citizens to vote for town trustees, chase was made until nearly two such a remarkable man
was started years thereafter, but the visit of these toward Chicago that we feel justified two to Chicago while the “boom was in revealing the springs of action on," decided them to make an invest-. which brought him hither.
ment and was eventually the means In the winter of 1832–33, Charles of bringing to Chicago one of her Butler, a talented, energetic young most remarkable men— William B. business man of Geneva, N. Y., was Ogden, Mr. Butler's brother-in-law. visiting Arthur Bronson, a friend in Having thus, before his time, introNew York City. Much of their talk duced the first mayor of Chicago was of the Black Hawk war and the city, without more ado, we proceed country of vast possibilities to which to speak of Chicago town. it had attracted the attention of East
CHICAGO AS A BODY POLITIC. ern capitalists. Their minds were, Having obtained sufficient popufurthermore, inclined to broad finan lation to organize as a town, under cial enterprises, and they were espec State laws, the inhabitants of Chiially interested in railroads and canals. cago proceeded to feel of the 'public They decided to take a western trip pulse. for information and pleasure, Mr. At the meeting held in July, 1833, Bronson agreeing to discover what he twelve of the citizens voted for incorcould before they started in the sum poration. Mr. Heacock, lawyer and mer. General Scott was his friend, justice of the peace, voted against it and as that doughty officer had re Dr. E. S. Kimberly, clerk of the cently returned from the West, Mr. meeting and an arrival of the previBronson at once interviewed him.
ous year, at once issued notice for an After dilating upon the possibilities election of five trustees, on the toth of the country through which he had of August. There were thirteen canpassed, General Scott spoke particu didates for office out of twenty-eight larly of Chicago, as a likely town, electors; the successful ones were and advised Mr. Bronson to call on a Colonel Owen, Indian Agent; Mr. certain merchant who supplied the Dole, Madore B. Beaubien, John Mildealers of that place with goods. He ler, and Dr. Kimberly; the election did so, met Robert A. Kinzie, who being held at the Sauganash, Mark was ordering a bill, and was offered Beaubien's Hotel. Messrs. Carpenan interest in the section of land upon ter, Wright, Hamilton, Temple, J. B. which the old homestead was located. Beaubien, Hogan, James, and Robert
Kinzie, were honored with a scatter
The well-to-do houseing vote, ranging from one to nine. holders, it is true, obtained their John H. Kinzie had not yet returned water from various town venders who with his family from Fort Winnebago, drove their hogshead wagons into the where since 1829 he had been acting lake, near the foot of our Randolph as Indian Agent.
street, filled them and then started The Sauganash was fixed upon as out to peddle the clear Auid at from the regular meeting place of the five to ten cents per barrel; the town board, so that Mark Beaubien's poorer residents living near the river large, handsome, cheery presence and generally obtained their water from his inspiring violin soon became a ne
the less inconvenient source of supcessary accompaniment to the business ply. So that an ordinance against proceedings. President Owen, Clerk pollution was timely. Harmon and Treasurer Dole were The governing board also warned not more necessary. Not even John housekeepers against the passing of Dean Caton, as Corporation Counsel, unprotected stove-pipes through roofs could compete in importance with and partitions, and appointed a fire Mark Beaubien, the presiding genius warden to see that the law was obeyed, at the political headquarters of the or to call out the citizens and take town.
charge of them should a conflagration As organized, the town of Chicago
break out. The authorities further extended the limits beyond the plat more built a log jail on the northwest of the Canal Commissioners. To the
corner of the court house square, oppowest the town limits, fell short of the site the “Estray Pen” and nearer the original plat, the boundary being center of the town; for the center of Canal instead of Des Plaines street; population had already moved away but the North Side now extended to from Wolf Point toward the South Ohio instead of Kinzie street, and, of
Side and the harbor improvements, course, the “harbor improvements and when the summer of 1834 opened in progress and prospective-were in with the sand bar removed—navigacluded within the boundaries.
tion into the river unimpedei—those The season during which the germs portions of the town lying near the were planted of the body politic was harbor -- especially South Water a busy time for the early legislators street-were considered “ made" for of Chicago. During the autumn of 1833 all time, the trustees passed an ordinance to The good news also spread abroad prevent the pollution of the river, and during the season over a hundred which was then an important source of immigrants arrived in town. And of supply, no public well having yet been the great forces which had dug and the lake being inconvenient menced to exert themselves for the