Imágenes de páginas

at the Haymarket, July 6 and 12, with an
entirely different cast, whilst it was given for
"the fourth time there" at Drury Lane on
as Elwina.
May 6, 1786, with Mrs. Siddons

Other productions were:-Drury Lane, Sept.
29, 1787; Covent Garden, Oct. 12, 1897; Drury
Lane, Oct. 6, 1807; Covent Garden, Jan. 7,
1812; and Nov. 11, 1815, the last with the fol-
lowing cast: Percy C. Kemble; Douglas
Sir Hubert
Young; Raby - Barrymore;
Egerton; Elwina - Miss O'Neill.

The Library.

Sheffield, Hallamshire: A Descriptive Cata
logue of Sheffield Manorial Records. Vol. II.
(Sheffield, J. W.
By T. Walter Hall.

E reviewed at cli. 197, the first volume of

WE f

Percy was first published in 1778 in Lon-
don, a second edition being issued in Dublin
in 1785.

out (Part I) with the Court Roll of the Manor
of Sheffield for 7 Elizabeth, that is, from Oct. 5,
1564, to Sept. 17, 1565. Details from this-
marks were
relating exclusively to cutlers'
published by Mr. R. E. Leader in his 'History
UTHOR WANTED (cliv. 461).-2. My bro- of the Corporation of Cutlers, in Hallamshire,'
Ather, a professional musician who studied in taken, apparently, not from the original roll,



Germany for some time, ascribed this mot, in
Ladies, remember you
the form,
saving Rome," to a celebrated German
ductor, I think, Georg Henschel. The ladies
at a rehearsal were chattering, and their noise
was not useful, like that of the geese who saved
the Roman Capitol by giving warning of a
silent attack. These geese had been spared in
a time of famine as sacred to Juno, and heard
the invaders when the guards and dogs did not.
(Livy, v. 47).

Mr. John Hodgkin, in his book, 'Proper
Terms, explanations of various words applied
to Companys of Beestys and Fowlys," notes
that, while a bevy of ladies" is the proper
is applied
term, a
both to geese and women.

[ocr errors]






AUTHOR WANTED (cliv. 461).

was the



[ocr errors]

V. R.
4. Aglen




Siliad.' He also wrote the play Edward
VII (published in 1876), Jon Duan' and
The Coming K
He was a clerk in the
War Office. One of his superiors called the
attention of the Prince of Wales (King Ed-
ward) to the subject and suggested that Dowty
should be dismissed from the Civil Service,
but of course the Prince would not listen to
the suggestion. Eventually Dowty was dis-
missed for neglecting his official duties.
contributed to the London Figaro over the
signature of "O. P. Q. Philander Smiff."

Reform Club, Liverpool.

Responsibility for authorship of the above
has been ascribed to S. O. Beeton, O. P;

[ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]


which was not then known, but from extracts
in the Cutlers' archives at Sheffield.
has turned
however, the original roll
being Add Ch. 17210-17212 in the MS.-room at
the British Museum, acquired in 1866.
records two Great Tourns (Court-Leet held for
all Hallamshire by the Earls of Shrewsbury
in place of the Sheriff's Court) and
Courts Baron.

Part II, which constitutes the bulk of the
volume, gives extracts from the Sheffield
gathered into book-
court-rolls, which were
form about the middle of the seventeenth cen-
tury. The original rolls are for the most part
missing. The years covered are from 1 Edw.
VI to 15 James I. Among points of interest
here are seven grants of marks to cutlers of
earlier date than any hitherto known, one of
which is the unique early example of the grant
of a mark for arrowheads (Thomas Wright:
Mar. 9, 1562/3). Mr. Hall embodies in the
preface a table of careful facsimiles of sixty-
name of
one cutlers' marks giving date,
grantee and use for which required. Knives,
naturally, are in great predominance,
twice shears and once sickles are the objects
to be marked. Infringement of the mark
incurred a fine of twenty shillings: the
of one
grantee paid to the lord new rent
We rather wonder why the words
per se in the record of these grants are ren-
dered by himself" and not for himself."
Doubtless, there is good reason for it.

[merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]

Part III consists of a collection of charters
relating to South Yorkshire, recently bought
in London from the Library of the late W. A.
Clarenceux King-of-Arms.
range in date from 1271 to 1567, and are in
Latin or Norman French. Abridged trans-
lations are given here, with some notes and
suggestions. Points to note are the fourteenth
century working of outcrop coal at Cortworth
and the trace of two lost villages, Raynald-
thorpe and Penisale.

The most interesting pages of the volume,
however, are those which make Part IV-the
account of Thundercliffe and the Hermitage of
"Thundercliffe," of
St. John at Ecclesfield.”
course, could not escape being interpreted as
"The under cliff": but it would seem that
this is to be too clever, that the name really
has to do with thunder, and was bestowed by
the monks of Kirkstead, to whom the Lovetot

charter of 1161 gave it, because here they had their smithy-house and forges, and the cliff was the scene of the noise of the works and the flash of the fires. They worked iron on this hill for nearly two hundred years, and the accumulation of cinders round the forges, which had to be shifted from time to time in consequence, presently originated. an alternative name, Cindercliffe. Of the hermitage of St. John, which goes back beyond the charter, there seems little to be said. Land is described in the charter as being formerly of Robert le Cras, who may, it is thought, be the last and recently deceased, hermit. It extended to about 200 acres and was a free gift to the monks, no obligation at all to the lord of the manor of Ecclesfield lying upon them.

Part V is concerned with water-mills and cutlers' wheels on the river Don at Sheffield, and gives the list, printed at Sheffield in 1794, of all the works upon River Dunn from George Grayson's Tilt at Oughtey-Bridge down to Mr. Creswick's Paper Mill at Brightside and the Fall of Water at each Work the Number of Trows at each Wheel and the Hands employed." The steam grinding wheels employed the largest numbers of hands, 120 "at Messrs. Kenyon' and Co., Ponds " being the highest number given. The whole number of hands represented in the list is something short of 1500, most of them working on the Dunn and the Loxley.

The volume is beautifully printed, and contains many good illustrations-especially photographs of documents. We must not omit mention of Mr. W. F. Northend's cleverly written specimen of early Elizabethan court-hand. The Romance of the Apothecaries' Garden at Chelsea. By F. Dawtrey Drewitt. 3rd ed. (Cambridge University Press. 7s. 6d. net).

DR. Dawtrey Drewitt's charming account of the Physic Garden of the Society of Apothecaries at Chelsea (first published in 1922), has evidently met with a happy reception among those interested in botany and history, for a third edition has now appeared. The Apothecaries' Garden has had a continuous career since 1673; it was said in the eighteenth century to rival the botanical gardens of Paris and Leyden. But in its life of more than two and a half centuries it has passed through many vicissitudes, which make a romantic tale in Dr. Drewitt's hands. There is a special appropriateness in his undertaking the task, since he is a descendant of William Jones, the entomologist, whose house in Chelsea, close to the Physic Garden, became in the late eighteenth century a centre naturalists.


An interesting feature of the present edition is the inclusion of some hitherto unpublished matter relating to the origin of the Linnean Society. Sir J. E. Smith, in letters to William Jones written in 1786-7, emphasizes the need for an association "for the cultivation of Natl Histy strictly," the Royal Society being then much occupied with mathematics. Ex

perience had led the scientists of those days to fear the danger of acrimony-sometimes amounting to violence-which was liable to be displayed at scientific discussions, and as а precaution, in the early years of the Linnean Society, no remarks were permitted upon the papers read at the meetings!

Many half-forgotten botanical worthies of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries live again in Dr. Drewitt's pages, which are as entertaining as they are learned. Occasionally completer references to the sources used would be a welcome addition. Dr. Drewitt alludes, for instance, to the well-known story that Sir Joseph Banks, as a boy, bore off a herbal from his mother's dressing-room, and carried it to Eton in order to identify plants; he suggests that this was either Gerard's," or the copy of the Herbarius Moguntinus of 1484, which Banks is known to have possessed in later life. The Dict. Nat. Biog.' definitely refers to the volume in question as Gerard's Herbal, and one would like to know if Dr. Drewitt has any evidence for the alternative he offers; it seems, on the face of it, improbable that the book was the Herbarius Moguntinus, which, interesting as it is from the historical standpoint, would have been of next to no value to a schoolboy who wanted to learn the names of plants.

[ocr errors]

A word should be said as to the Frontispiece, showing the two Cedars of Lebanon which formerly stood sentinel at the gate of the garden; it is far more satisfactory than the smaller and rougher version of James Fuge's picture which appeared in the previous


WE have received from the Cambridge University Press the new pocket edition (5s. net) of Sir Arthur Quiller-Couch's From a Cornish Window. The book was published first in May, 1906, and in the succeeding months had to be again and again re-printed. A second edition appeared in 1912. It is, we think, high praise to say that we have enjoyed it in its new guise. Few books about life and literature of that particular date still speak acceptablytwenty-two years away is both too near and too far.

But this one is worked deep enough, beneath its surface ease and pleasantness, to touch, at more than one point, and in regard both to books and to men, what does not so soon change.

[blocks in formation]
[ocr errors]

Printed and Published by The Bucks Free Press, Ltd., at their Offices, 20, High Street, High Wycombe, in the County of Bucks.



Vol. 155. No. 4.


and other early Dramatists. Report all early books, pamphlets, manuscripts, autograph letters, out of the way items, etc., to


JULY 28, 1928.

34 & 35, Conduit St., London. W


[blocks in formation]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]
[ocr errors]

No. 173.

AMERICANA. In two parts, 2,600
titles, free.

RARE BOOKS. 306 titles, free.
No. 175. FINE ARTS. 1,261 titles, free.
Print Catalogues and semi-monthly
bulletins of Print Exhibitions, free.

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]



[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]


[ocr errors]

68. 9d.

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

QUERIES:-Office of the Court of Augmentations
-A Trinidad fish, 63-Scrap-books-English and
Irish Folk-songs Armada Bon-fires Sugar
Loaves Collins and Dansey of the 33rd Regi.
ment of Foot, 1756-1794-Captain Napier, 1742/3.
64-Weber's Oberon '-E. Avenel-Reference
wanted: Frederick II on Voltaire
wanted, 65.
REPLIES:-A mysterious plant, 65-Gold-mining
in Wales-The Malady of the
stone" in the
seventeenth century-No. 44 Fleet Street, 66-The
Cock at Temple Bar-Confederate States' Flag-
English Officers in Austrian service, 67-The
sounding of the charge at Balaclava, 68-Agri-
cultural and building customs: Témoins-Com-
bination locks-Lancaster authors: Christopher
Johnson, surgeon, 69 Folk-lore: the tigress
crossing a river with her whelps-A neglected
factor in place-names-Author wanted, 70.

THE LIBRARY:-"A New English Dictionary."

[ocr errors]
[blocks in formation]

A Selection of Books published by the



Satires and Miscellaneous Poetry and Prose

Edited by RENÉ LAMAR, M.A.

Crown 8vo. 15s net

(Cambridge English Classics Series)


Edited, with an introduction and notes, by R. J. L. KINGSFORD, M.A. Fcap 8vo. 28 6d

(English Literature for Schools Series)

Crown 8vo. 6s net


A Guide for Students
Crown 8vo. 6s net


A Comedy by CARLO GOLDONI Translated, with an introduction, by E. J. DENT

Fcap 8vo. 3s 6d net

(Performed by the A.D.C., Cambridge, June 5-12)


Volume 1. The Soul and its Faculties
By F. R. TENNANT, D.D., B.Sc.
Royal 8vo. 21s net


Foolscap 8vo. 5s net


By SIR GEORGE YOUNG, Bт, M.A. (Cantab), Hon. LL.D. (St Andrews) Demy 8vo. 15s net

THE NEW SHAKESPEARE Edited by SIR ARTHUR QUILLER-COUCH and JOHN DOVER WILSON Eleventh Volume now ready. TAMING OF THE SHREW Each volume contains an introduction, notes, a glossary, a stage history, and a frontispiece in photogravure. Fcap 8vo. Cloth, 6s net each. Leather, 10s 6d net each.



Third Edition.

With a frontispiece and 14 illustrations.
Crown 8vo. 78 6d net


A Study of Musical Drama in England during the Seventeenth Century By E. J. DENT

Demy 8vo. 12s 6d net


17TH CENTURY, 1603-1689 By J. R. TANNER, Litt. D. Demy 8vo. 15s net

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

NOTES AND QUERIEtreet, Bligh Wycombe, Friday, at 20, High

Bucks (Telephone: Wycombe 306). Subscriptions (£2 28. a year, U.S.A. $10.50, including postage, two half-yearly indexes and two cloth binding cases, or £1 158. 4d. a year, U.S.A. $9, without binding cases) should be sent to the Manager. The London Office is at 14, Burleigh Street, W.C.2 (Telephone: Chancery 8766), where the current issue is on sale. Orders for back numbers, indexes and bound volumes should be sent either to London or to Wycombe; letters for the Editor to the London Office.



E have all been reading affectionate and admiring praise of Dame Ellen Terry, but the writer of these words has not found, amid so much that has been said of her charm, enough insistence on the degree to which that charm was served by her voice. The author of the Memoir in the Morning Post speaks of her "rather thin, tremulous tones"-truly, something of an injustice. Those who saw her play the Nurse to Miss Doris Keane's Juliet at the Lyric in 1919 will assuredly never forget how those tones-so clear and magical and easy-satisfied and rejoiced the ear in contrast to the rather strained and slightly harsh voice of Juliet. Dame Ellen had, what is given to few, a voice that carried her soul, and perhaps it has missed its due praise from the very fact that it was so perfect a vehicle.

No doubt, for some little time, the Press will be full of people's reminiscences of her. A friend has sent us an account of her, when studying for Mme Sans-Gêne, going down to

the kitchen in the house of a well-known oculist, a great friend of hers, to learn from his housekeeper the proper way to wring cloths. "No, little Doctor," she said, "I am not going to have gallery shouts, That i'nt the wy to wring things. So she carefully learned how they should be wrung.

[ocr errors]

WE WE have received the January-June number for this year of the Journal of the Cork Historical and Archeological Society. Among many things to which we might equally well draw attention there is a good deal in it on the subject of Fermoy. The Ven. T. C. Abbott gives a short account of the sudden rise of the modern town. In

the seventeen-nineties it presented the meanest and most miserable collection of squalid cabins, whose inhabitants were noted for idleness and dissoluteness; in 1809 it was a prosperous town of well over four thousand inhabitants besides the military. The magician who performed this miracle was


Scotchman, John Anderson, who purchased the Fermoy_estate in 1791; and had the wit to see that Fermoy was a place exactly suited for the Government purpose of establishing new military centres in the South of Ireland, for it commanded an important pass on the Blackwater, and stood at the confluence of several roads. Accordingly, he offered the Government unlimited choice of building sites; offered to build temporary barracks for troops until permanent quarters could be constructed, and, above all, set himself to erect a town to meet the requirements of a garrison. The barracks having been constructed, there came the question of the church. Fermoy parish had been " appropriate " to the Cistercian Abbey of Fermoy; upon the suppression of the Abbey in 1560, the tithes passed into lay hands and the parish remained derelict. By the purchase of the Fermoy estate Anderson had become impropriator of the tithes, and to him accordingly the Government looked to provide for the religious requirements of the new town. The article gives a hitherto unpublished minute of the proceedings of a meeting summoned to consider what first steps should be taken. It was decided to erect a new church, the church of the said parish having been in a state of ruin since the Reformation"; "the Anderson offered "gratis and for ever necessary ground, and a site was fixed upon, the eastern corner of the orchard fronting the bridge of Fermoy, and on the north side of it." The first incumbent was a friend of Anderson's, William Adair, who served the cure for twelve years and drew up

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]


Account of Fermoy as it stood in May, 1809." All that remained of the old Abbey, with its church and graveyard (they had been situated on the south bank of the river, west of the bridge) was completely cleared away— probably about 1804. The site for the new church was admirably chosen, and great advantage accrued from the church having been built first and the town planned with reference to it-for all now admire its commanding position with the streets converging towards it, yet not crowding it. One only survival of the thirteenth century Abbey yet remains, the font, so it would appear, of the church, which was also the parish church.

« AnteriorContinuar »