Historia secreta de una novela

Front Cover
Tusquets, 2001 - 78 pages
1 Review
In "Historia secreta de una novela, Vargas Llosa reveals everything that a good reader always wants to know about the authors that he or she most admires: how a literary work is born, how personal experience turns into verbal history, how somebody becomes a writer. We learn throughout these pages that writing is a sort of &la" inverted strip-tease, in which the revealed charms are none other than the nostalgia, guilt and spitefulness that the author carries along. This is the unforgettable tale of how every true narrator mixes, in adequate doses, fiction, reality, autobiography, and auto-invention in order to achieve one of those mythical places in the collective imagination.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Muy buena novela

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

The writer, politician, and journalist Mario Vargas Llosa was born in Arequipa, Peru on March 28, 1936. From 1950 to 1952 he attended Lima's Leoncio Prado Military Academy. He was also enrolled at the Colegio Nacional San Miguel de Piura. He studied literature and law at the National University of San Marcos and received his Ph.D from the University of Madrid in 1959. Considered to be one of Latin America's most significant novelists and essayists, he rose to fame in the 1960s with such controversial novels as The Time of the Hero, The Green House, and Conversation in the Cathedral. His works vary in genre from literary criticism and journalism to comedies, murder mysteries, historical novels, and political thrillers. His other works include Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, The Feast of the Goat, and The War of the End of the World. He has won many awards for his writing, including the Rómulo Gallegos International Novel Prize, the Premio Leopoldo Alas in 1959, the Premio Biblioteca Breve in 1962, the Premio Planeta in1993, the Miguel de Cervantes Prize in 1994, the Jerusalem Prize in 1995, and the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2010.

Bibliographic information